Girl in the Looking Glass

tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640

She stood on the other side of the looking glass

peering at the looming shadow

a girl.

peeling off the black

tights

dark and hidden

looking at herself.

An outpour of hatred

for the body she had.

no.

she wouldn’t.

She smashed the glass

tearing herself

away,

from the image it held.

Crystals shatter

red.

But they still captured her eye

drip

drop

they fell.

tears rolling

she could not look away

but all of her wanted to, and yet

all my screaming and begging for her to

stop

fell to deaf ears.

She could not stop

but I could.

I sang a song

a happy song.

Of a better time,

when the world wasn’t so cruel

pulling her body apart in shreds

of sunshine

and smiles

and a young innocent

face.

But I had to look back

something

someone

somehow

I just couldn’t leave her now.

She wished

she begged

but I could do nothing.

she saw what the eyes wanted her to see

my looking glass

was merely

a blank canvas

painted on by the cruel artist

of Life

But she would never know.

Her beautiful figure

tarnished by the world

her eyes

blinded by her heart.

She wanted to see,

I wanted to show.

But all I could do

was scream.

Afterall,

I was just the girl

inside

the

Looking Glass.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

